2020-21 Wharton MBA Academic Calendar

Dates are subject to change.

Saturday, August 15 – Tuesday, August 18

Pre-Term Exercises (Wharton MBA Class of 2022)

Wednesday, August 19

First Day of Fall Semester for First-Year Students

Wednesday, August 19 – Friday, August 28

MGMT 610: Foundations of Teamwork and Leadership 

Monday, August 31

MGMT 610 Exam Due

AUGUST 2020

Monday, August 24

Course Match Closes (12:00PM ET)
Last day for students to report and modify utilities for Fall 2020 courses.

Friday, August 28

Course Match Schedules Released
Students will receive e-mail notification once schedules have been released. Drop/Add “Buffer” period begins at this time.

Monday, August 31

Course Match Drop/Add “Buffer Period” Ends (12:00PM ET)
Course Match interface will close and registration requests will be processed. Students will receive e-mail notification late afternoon when results have been released.

SEPTEMBER 2020

Tuesday, September 1

First Day of Fall Semester for Second-Year Students
Q1 and Full Semester Core and Elective Courses Begin

Monday, September 7

Labor Day
Classes do not meet

Tuesday, September 8

Drop/Add Deadline: Q1 & Full Semester Courses (11:59PM ET)

Dropping a Q1 or full semester course at capacity after this date will warrant a “W” on your transcript for holding a seat that one of your classmates may have used. This deadline also applies to quarter 1 AND quarter 2 sections of WHCP 611.

Courses that meet on Monday only during Q1 or the entire fall semester have an extended drop/add deadline of Monday, September 14 at 11:59 PM ET. This extended drop/add deadline does not apply to WHCP 611. Again, as mentioned above, the last day to drop Q1 and Q2 WHCP 611 is September 8th at 11:59pm.

Adding a Q1 or full semester course after this date requires the instructor’s written permission and is only permissible in extraordinary circumstances.

Wednesday, September 9

Deadline to submit Registration Authorization Requests for Non‐MBA student enrollment
Non-MBA students can access the request form here.

Monday, September 21

Change of Grading Status Deadline: Q1 & Full Semester Courses (11:59PM ET)
Elect letter grade or pass/fail option for eligible Q1 and full semester courses. Be sure to check major requirements for pass/fail allowances. 
*Any course taken for a substitution must be taken for a letter grade.

Monday, September 28

Final Day to Drop Q1 Courses (11:59PM ET)
Dropping a Q1 course after this date is considered a withdrawal and will warrant a “W” on your transcript and the course credit unit value will be counted against your 21 CU limit. Students who exceed the 21 CU limit are subject to additional tuition charges. You cannot withdraw from a course once the last class session has begun. 

OCTOBER  2020

Monday, October 5

Last Day to Add/Drop MKTG 613 001 and MKTG 613 003 (Strategic Marketing Simulation)

Wednesday, October 14

Last Day of Q1 Core Courses
Q1 Monday-only core courses and Q1 Thursday-only core courses may meet after this date to ensure adequate number of class meetings. Consult course syllabus for more information.

Saturday, October 17

Last Day to Add/Drop MKTG 613 005 and MKTG 613 007 (Strategic Marketing Simulation)

Thursday, October 15 –
Wednesday, October 21

Core Exams
Core Exam Schedule Available Here

Wednesday, October 21

Last Day of Q1 Elective Courses

Thursday, October 22

First Day of Q2 Core AND Elective Courses

Thursday, October 29

Q2 Drop/Add Deadline (11:59PM ET)
Dropping a Q2 course at capacity after this date will warrant a “W” on your transcript for holding a seat that one of your classmates may have used.

Adding a Q2 course after this date requires the instructor’s written permission and is only permissible in extraordinary circumstances.

Final Day to Drop Full Semester Courses (11:59PM ET)
Dropping a full semester course after this date is considered a withdrawal and will warrant a “W” on your transcript and the course credit unit value will be counted against your 21 CU limit. Students who exceed the 21 CU limit are subject to additional tuition charges. You cannot withdraw from a course once the last class session has begun. 

Friday, October 30

Deadline to submit Registration Authorization Requests for Non‐MBA student enrollment
Non-MBA students can access the request form here.

NOVEMBER 2020

Tuesday, November 10

Change of Grading Status Deadline: Q2 Courses (11:59PM ET)
Elect letter grade or pass/fail option for eligible Q2 courses. Be sure to check major requirements for pass/fail allowances. 
*Any course taken for a substitution must be taken for a letter grade.

Tuesday, November 17

Final Day to Drop Q2 Courses (11:59PM ET)
Dropping a Q2 course after this date is considered a withdrawal and will warrant a “W” on your transcript and the course credit unit value will be counted against your 21 CU limit. Students who exceed the 21 CU limit are subject to additional tuition charges. You cannot withdraw from a course once the last class session has begun. 

Monday, November 23

Course Match Opens (12:00PM ET)
Students may begin to report and modify their utilities for Spring 2021 courses.

Monday, November 23 –
Wednesday, November 25

Core Courses Do Not Meet

Tuesday, November 24

University Operates on a Thursday Schedule
Tuesday-only classes DO NOT MEET

Wednesday, November 25

University Operates on a Friday Schedule
Wednesday-only classes DO NOT MEET

Thursday, November 26 –
Sunday, November 29

Thanksgiving Break
Classes do not meet

DECEMBER 2020

Wednesday, December 9

Last Day of Q2 and Full Semester Core Courses

Thursday, December 10

University Operates on a MONDAY Schedule
Thursday classes DO NOT MEET

Last Day of Q2 and Full Semester Elective Courses

Friday, December 11 –
Monday, December 14

Final Exam Reading Days

Tuesday, December 15 –
Tuesday, December 22

Final Exam Period

JANUARY 2021

Thursday, January 7 

Course Match Closes (12:00PM ET)
Last day for students to report and modify utilities for Spring 2021 courses.

Thursday, Jan 7 to Friday, Jan 15
Tuesday, Jan 19 & Friday, Jan 22

Focused Recruiting Period (FRP)

Wednesday, January 13

Course Match Schedules Released
Students will receive e-mail notification once schedules have been released. Drop/Add “Buffer” period begins at this time.

Friday, January 15

Course Match Drop/Add “Buffer Period” Ends (12:00PM ET)
Course Match interface will close and registration requests will be processed. Students will receive e-mail notification late afternoon when results have been released.

Wednesday, January 20

First Day of Spring Semester
Q3 and Full Semester Elective and Core courses begin

Thursday, January 28

Drop/Add Deadline: Q3 & Full Semester Courses (11:59PM ET)
If a course is at capacity as of January 28th at 11:59pm, dropping the course after that date and time will warrant a “W” on your transcript for holding a seat that one of your classmates may have used.

Adding a course after this date requires the instructor’s written permission and is only permissible in extraordinary circumstances.

Friday, January 29

Deadline to submit Registration Authorization Requests for Non‐MBA student enrollment
Non-MBA students can access the request form here.

FEBRUARY 2021

Thursday, February 11

Change of Grading Status Deadline: Q3 & Full Semester Courses (11:59PM ET)
Elect letter grade or pass/fail option for eligible Q3 and full semester courses. Be sure to check major requirements for pass/fail allowances. 
*Any course taken for a substitution must be taken for a letter grade.

Wednesday, February 17

Final Day to Drop Q3 Courses (11:59PM ET)
Dropping a Q3 course after this date is considered a withdrawal and will warrant a “W” on your transcript and the course credit unit value will be counted against your 21 CU limit. Students who exceed the 21 CU limit are subject to additional tuition charges. You cannot withdraw from a course once the last class session has begun. 

MARCH 2021

Tuesday, March 2

Last Day of Q3 Core Courses

Wednesday, March 3 –
Tuesday, March 9

Core Exams
Schedule TBA

Tuesday, March 9

Last Day of Q3 Elective Courses

Wednesday, March 10 –
Sunday, March 14 

Spring Break
Classes do not meet

Monday, March 15 

First Day of Q4 Core & Elective Courses

 

Thursday, March 18 

Q4 Drop/Add Deadline (11:59PM ET)
Dropping a Q4 course at capacity after this date will warrant a “W” on your transcript for holding a seat that one of your classmates may have used. 

Adding a Q4 course after this date requires the instructor’s written permission and is only permissible in extraordinary circumstances.

Final Day to Drop Full Semester Courses (11:59PM ET)
Dropping a full semester course after this date is considered a withdrawal and will warrant a “W” on your transcript and the course credit unit value will be counted against your 21 CU limit. Students who exceed the 21 CU limit are subject to additional tuition charges. You cannot withdraw from a course once the last class session has begun. 

Friday, March 19 

Deadline to submit Registration Authorization Requests for Non‐MBA student enrollment
Non-MBA students can access the request form here.

Tuesday, March 30 

Change of Grading Status Deadline: Q4 Courses (11:59PM ET)
Elect letter grade or pass/fail option for eligible Q4 courses. Be sure to check major requirements for pass/fail allowances. 
*Any course taken for a substitution must be taken for a letter grade.

APRIL 2021

Monday, April 5 

Course Match Opens (12:00PM ET)
Students may begin to report and modify their utilities for Fall 2021 courses.

Tuesday, April 6 

Final Day to Drop Q4 Courses (11:59PM ET)
Dropping a Q4 course after this date is considered a withdrawal and will warrant a “W” on your transcript and the course credit unit value will be counted against your 21 CU limit. Students who exceed the 21 CU limit are subject to additional tuition charges. You cannot withdraw from a course once the last class session has begun. 

Thursday, April 22 

Last Day of Q4 and Full Semester Core Courses 

Wednesday, April 28 

Last Day of Q4 and Full Semester Elective Courses 

Thursday, April 29 –
Sunday, May 2 

Final Exam Reading Days

MAY 2021

Monday, May 3-
Tuesday, May 11 

Final Exam Period

Sunday, May 16 

Wharton MBA Commencement Ceremony

Monday, May 17 

University of Pennsylvania Commencement Ceremony

Revised: October 19, 2020 – SUBJECT TO CHANGE